Reviews

"Always ALWAYS a high quality finish"

Chris G

Steve and the team are friendly and professional. Always ALWAYS a high quality finish, great men's styling and products. As men we also look for good quality conversation, you get that here too. Pleasant atmosphere! June 2021

"The quality and consistency of each cut is second to none"

Liam S

I’ve been going to Watson’s for 3 years now. It’s a fantastic barber shop with a great atmosphere. I book in for a skin fade and always leave very happy. The quality and consistency of each cut is second to none. I would highly recommend to anyone! June 2021

"Watson's offers the whole grooming package for you and your beard"

Danny R

More than just a Barber's, Watson's offers the whole grooming package for you and your beard. Steve has advised and taken care of my beard journey for the last three years. I go for beard shaping, beard care and advice on how to take care of my facial hair as well as great conversation. I highly recommend Watson's Barber's. June 2021

"The place has a great atmosphere, staff and customers alike enjoy the conversation"

Lee W

I travel from Wakefield to Watson’s Barber’s on a monthly basis and have done for the past three years. The service is wonderful, Laura, Steve and Marcus are all expert barbers, the place has a great atmosphere, staff and customers alike enjoy the conversation and Steve’s often eclectic choice of music. Five out of five, and I’ll keep making the effort to go back time and time again. I couldn't recommend Watson’s Barber’s highly enough. June 2021

"I can feel the weight of the past months’ worth of detritus being lifted from my shoulders."

Lee-Desmondo H

https://watsonsbarbers.co.uk/post/the-value-of-a-haircut I have been visiting Watson’s Barbers now (recent world-gone-mad status notwithstanding) for the last two years. So, when the well crafted synopsis linked above appeared online I was keen to view the barber’s perspective of the “Value of a Haircut”. Needless to say, as a repeat, almost habitual, customer I wholeheartedly agree with the sentiments so eloquently and succinctly expressed within it. The only comments I can think of adding as a “Punter” are as follows: artisan - (n) - someone who does skilled work with their hands. Watson’s Barber's can certainly carry this title with pride. Every single cut, treatment, beard trim and shave I have witnessed being delivered within this establishment would not be out place between the covers of the most glossy, high end men’s magazines. Foil (n) - something or someone that makes another's good or bad qualities more noticeable. To echo the views of the author, the 1 ½ hours I spend in his chair, for me, can be compared to the time divers spend in a decompression chamber in order to counteract the effects of the bends. With every snip of the scissors, every scrape of the stubble and every wickedly acerbic comment aired between us, I can feel the weight of the past months’ worth of detritus being lifted from my shoulders. So, to sum up, in my humble opinion, if you are not taking this sort of “Value” from your haircut then you are visiting the wrong Barber.

"Professionalism is nothing less then top notch"

Steve P

Absolutely amazing service is second to none. Always accommodating and salon is lovely and clean. Professionalism is nothing less then top notch. May 2021

"Very light happy space."

Kian B

Very light happy space, lots of jokes and overall pleasant experience. May 2021

"Always a friendly, welcoming environment"

Jack F

Been going since it opened. It’s always a friendly, welcoming environment. Great conversations, good music. Excellent haircuts, great service. Will always back. May 2021

"Such a welcoming feel to the salon."

David B

Been going for a while now and cannot recommend Marcus and the salon enough. Such a welcoming feel to the salon. 5 stars all day long. May 2021

"Amazing staff."

Luke H

Amazing staff. Marcus is an amazing barber and I always enjoy going. April 2021

"Spotless salon."

Jim T

Fantastic service great haircut. Friendly team in spotless salon. Looking forward to my next visit! April 2021

"A barbers that actually knows how to cut hair."

Ashley L

Been searching far and wide for a barbers that actually knows how to cut hair! Can't recommend enough. December 2020

"You pay for what you get and what you get from Watson’s is worth the money!"

Aaron B

Best fade in Hull. If you are wanting a 15 minute £5 cut don’t book in. If you want a barber who takes his time and make sure everything is perfect before you leave the shop then book in at Watsons, the price is fair! You pay for what you get and what you get from Watson’s is worth the money! December 2020

"Down to earth staff"

Joe G

Awesome barbers with lovely and down to earth staff! December 2020

"My hair is the best it’s ever been"

Lee B

Absolutely buzzing with my cut yesterday, Steve. Been with you a year now and my hair is the best it’s ever been. You said it would be a long process and you’ve delivered, top man. Merry Christmas to you and the rest off the team at Watson’s Barber’s. December 2020

"I was impressed with the professional set up and the relaxed atmosphere"

Mark S

Quality Service! First visit to Watson's and I will definitely be back. Aside from my haircut (which I am extremely happy with), I was impressed with the professional set up and the relaxed atmosphere. Steve discussed what would suit me best and really took his time to ensure I got what I wanted, even explaining to me at the end of the cut what I would need to do when styling it myself at home. December 2020

"Marcus is very patient and my son has learnt to relax and trust Marcus"

Louise H

I have been bringing my son here for a while now to have his hair cut with Marcus. My son has additional needs and Marcus is very patient with him and in time my son has learnt to relax and trust Marcus over the last year. Wouldn’t take Morgan anywhere else. Morgan loves that Marcus does his hair just how he likes it. Thanks Marcus! Also Steve too who steps in when Marcus isn’t available! Thanks guys! December 2020

"Nice chilled atmosphere"

Sam D

Fantastic service as always. Nice chilled atmosphere and you can always guarantee you'll be leaving Watson's with a top class cut. December 2020

"Watson’s is a warm and friendly place that make you feel very comfortable"

Adam R

Been looking for a good barbers for a while now, and finally I think I’ve found it. Watson’s is a warm and friendly place that make you feel very comfortable. Laura took her time to find out what I was looking to do then executed it brilliantly. Loved the new hair and the beard looked sharp. Really friendly and took her time to ensure I was happy with everything. I’ll definitely be back in the new year! December 2020

"A thoroughly enjoyable experience"

Tom B

Perfect, really happy with my trim and Laura is really friendly. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. December 2020

"You knows for a fact you're walking away with a decent hair cut"

Nathan T

Top class services as usual, once in that chair whether you're sat in front of Laura, Marcus or Steve, you knows for a fact you're walking away with a decent hair cut. December 2020

"Legend Barber"

Adam F

Marcus the legend barber! Thank you for making me look respectable instead of a lockdown tramp. Brilliant job. Would recommend all the time! December 2020

"In short it’s not just a haircut - it's therapy for the modern Gent."

Lee H

In this world of homogenized, sanitised, over-sensitised mayhem it is reassuring to know that there is a haven of no-nonsense “coiffur-y” (namely, Watson’s Barber's) to escape to. Akin to fine wines, perfectly crafted single malts or blue veined cheeses, this establishment matures magnificently with every visit. Steve is not only a true Master of his craft, he is counselor on modern life quandaries and connoisseur of the finer things in life from savoury snacks to top quality cheroots. I have waxed lyrical on the preciseness of the “barber-y” on offer at Watson's previously and believe me, the attention to detail whilst you are in the chair is consistently second none. However, to only focus on the physical delivery of the haircuts and shaves on offer would be doing these guys an incredible disservice. The trick here is not see an appointment at Watson's as just a part of your personal care regime, no, it is more than that. It is between 40 to 90 mins (choice on service dependent) of banter that is as sharp as the cutthroat razor being wielded about you neck and a chance download, reset and update your own internal hard drive. In short it’s not just a haircut and / or shave and / or nostril defoliation etc.; it is therapy for the modern Gent. 31 October 2020

"knows his stuff and is passionate about giving you the right haircut"

Karl J

First time visiting. Steve really knows his stuff and is passionate about giving you the right haircut, great all round service and my new go to barber. Thanks mate. 23 October 2020

"A great bit of banter, but really professional as well"

Gary A

The service was really good. A great bit of banter, but really professional as well. 21 October 2020

"brilliant conversation"

Ian M

Top service, great cut and brilliant conversation! Recommended. 16 October 2020

"He has given me a hairstyle that works best for me"

Lewis R

Brill experience. Steve asked me about my hair and how I felt about it. I left it in his hands and he has given me a hairstyle that works best for me. He spent a good hour on it. Great attention to detail. 10 October 2020

"It's a big boy barber's where you have a proper conversation about your hair without feeling like a girl"

Iain B

I love this place. It doesn't look much from the outside, but it's a big boy barber's where you have a proper conversation about your hair without feeling like a girl. I've been looking for a place like this in Hull for years - delighted to have finally found it. 09 October 2020

" I don’t even have to check the hair cut"

Tom D

Been going to Steve for about a year now, top bloke and always delivers, I don’t even have to check the hair cut, I know he’s done a gone a job. 30 September 2020

" Loved it at Watson’s. Very friendly and very professional."

Chris E

First time in a barbers for 20 years. Loved it at Watson’s. Very friendly and very professional. Definitely booking back in there and would highly recommend to others. First class. 29 September 2020

"There's no other place in Hull that genuinely cares about your haircut like Watson's."

Charlie S

There's no other place in Hull that genuinely cares about your haircut like Watson's. All 3 barbers are experts in what they do and know what to recommend, even if you don't exactly know what you're after. As soon as you sit down, you just know you're in good hands. On top of that, Steve, Laura and Marcus are brilliant to have a conversation with. 24 September 2020

"The end product was an immaculate beard, and one I could love again."

Adam S

I've been visiting Watson’s Barber's since the end of July and from that first appointment, the service I have received has being nothing short of exceptional! I was understandably tentative upon my first visit... with an untouched lockdown beard of 17 weeks (yes I logged it) and allowing a new barber to let loose for the first time in 4 years - a change caused by Covid in all honesty - then for any man who is obsessed with his beard, they can sure as hell relate... this is and WAS, a bloody big deal! There was a lot to tame, and I was unsure of what I wanted from the end result. Steve was courteous of this and assisted throughout, which is always a sign of a very good barber - communication. The end product was an immaculate beard, and one I could love again. The facility is smart, clean, and has a very welcoming vibe & atmosphere about it... which of cause is influenced by the three MuskHAIRteers who work their magic within. I would book with confidence no matter who you select for a snip. I'm rather selective, and therefore book in with Steve. The attention to detail that he provides is second-to-none, and he exudes professionalism. It is a barber's responsibility to leave you feeling happy, and of course a million bucks, and that's exactly how I have felt on every visit... including today. I was booked in for a haircut and the beard treatment, which is incredible - you'd be far pressed to find another Barber's that offers such a service - Beard Connoisseurs take note, YOU need this in your life! My second haircut since becoming a Watson’s customer was just like the first - as requested and then some. Steve always goes the extra mile and rest assured, you won't be leaving the place until HE is happy! Grooming is a serious business, and for those who agree that it ain't a cheap & cheerful fix, I'd recommend heading to Watson’s for sure. 21 September 2020

"Fantastic cut and service"

Mike K

Fantastic cut and service. Steve is very conscious of COVID and taking precautions. His station and the store is clean and inviting. Steve is concise and measured when he cuts hair and does it flawlessly. Second time at this Barbers and I will no doubt go back again. 18 September 2020

"Always feel good after a visit to Watson's"

Gary M

First time back after a fair few months great to see Steve Laura and Marcus but most of all great to have my haircut and as always a fantastic job done. Always feel good after a visit to Watson's. Brilliant service 👍👍 08 September 2020

"Attention to detail and perfectionist styling"

Andy T

Great haircut, my first with Watson's Barber's and first with Marcus. Marcus listened to my instructions as to how I like my haircut, styling etc and exceeded my expectations with his attention to detail and perfectionist styling. Great haircut for a great price. 07 September 2020

"I left one happy chappy."

Simon L

Brilliant cut as always from Laura! Had a lot of hair that needed cutting because of lockdown, so thought I would try something different. Showed her some pictures to give her a feel of what I was looking for and left it in her very capable hands. She worked her magic and she did not disappoint. The hair came perfect and I left one happy chappy! 30 July 2020

"Loads of effort from the team"

James G

Top cut - loads of effort from the team to make it the best cut possible with plenty of care & attention to detail. First visit but now I’m a convert! Cheers gang, see you in 4 weeks 👍🏻 30 July 2020

Get in touch

Book an appointment

Open booking app

We are currently only accepting bookings through Booksy. Click the link above or download the Booksy app.
Phone: 07847 725689

Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00PM
Sunday
Closed